Trainers

Simone Dornbach
© Simone Dornbach

Simone Dornbach

Trainer for Confronting Racism and Colonial Continuities in Peace and Conflict Work

Simone Dornbach is a German and US-trained social worker (FH, MSW) who spent the early years of her career with the Civil Peace Service in Uganda. For the last 10 years Simone worked as a mediator, coach, and trainer, and volunteered in communities where she learned about and started supporting others in conflict transformation and anti-racist practices.

In 2010 Simone moved to the United States where she witnessed police brutality against Black U.S. Citizens, school segregation and everyday racism that led to her questioning her own whiteness, the beginning of her anti-racist journey. Informed by experiences in Uganda as a development worker and reflections with colleagues from the Global South, Simone started to interrogate and critically reflect on her own participation in an oppressive system disguised as development and peace building work. She is currently working as an adjunct lecturer at the City University of New York, John Jay College for Criminal Justice teaching dispute resolution and conflict resolution skills.

Offering this training is a deeply personal commitment as a trainer to support others starting their anti-racist journey as the world is in desperate need for more anti-racist activists and peacebuilders.

Trainer*innen

Simone Dornbach
© Simone Dornbach

Simone Dornbach

Trainer for Confronting Racism and Colonial Continuities in Peace and Conflict Work

Simone Dornbach ist Sozialarbeiterin mit deutscher und US-amerikanischer Ausbildung (FH, MSW). Die ersten Jahre ihrer Berufstätigkeit verbrachte sie mit dem Zivilen Friedensdienst in Uganda. In den letzten 10 Jahren hat Simone als Mediatorin, Coach und Trainerin gearbeitet. Sie engagierte sich ehrenamtlich in Communities, wo sie mehr über Konflikttransformation und antirassistische Methoden lernte und andere dabei unterstützte.

2010 zog Simone in die USA, wo sie Zeugin von Polizeigewalt gegen schwarze US-Bürger*innen, Segregation in Schulen und Alltagsrassismus wurde. Das hatte zur Folge, dass sie ihr eigenes Weiß-Sein hinterfragte und markierte so den Anfang von ihrem antirassistischen Weg. Simone begann, ihren eigenen Beitrag an einem unterdrückerischen System, das sich als Entwicklungs- und Friedensarbeit tarnt, zu hinterfragen und kritisch zu reflektieren. Das entstand aus ihren Erfahrungen als „Entwicklungshelferin“ in Uganda und Überlegungen mit Kolleg*innen aus dem globalen Süden heraus. Momentan arbeitet sie als Lehrbeauftragte an der City University of New York, John Jay College for Criminal Justice, und unterrichtet dort Streitschlichtung und Fähigkeiten zur Konfliktlösung.

Dieses Training anzubieten, ist ein sehr persönliches Engagement als Trainerin. Simone möchte damit andere unterstützen, ihren antirassistischen Weg zu beginnen, weil die Welt dringend mehr antirassistische Aktivist*innen und Friedensfachkräfte braucht.