Trainers

Stella Sabiiti
© forumZFD

Stella Sabiiti

Trainer for Constructive Intervention

Over the years Stella Mystica Sabiiti has developed a comprehensive approach to conflict transformation, grounded in her personal experience of war and torture, and a life spent as a refugee on three continents. Stella is currently UN Women Advisor to the African Union (AU)’s Network of Women in Conflict Prevention and Mediation (FemWise-Africa) following her Study whose recommendations and modalities for the establishment of the network were endorsed by the AU Peace and Security Council and the UN Security Council and finally by the AU Heads of State (July 2018). Previous to that Stella served as Team Leader at the AU’s Peace and Security Department on a team of Experts to operationalize the African Peace and Security Architecture (APSA) from 2005 and in 2012 she moved to the Women, Gender and Development Directorate (WGDD) in the Bureau of the Chairperson as a peace and security expert.

In 2002 Stella led a successful peace process between the Uganda National Rescue Front (UNRF2) rebel group and the current Government of Uganda. As a university student in 1976 she was abducted and tortured by soldiers of President Idd Amin. That experience shaped her future dedication to working with armed groups for peace. Following the overthrow of President Amin in 1979 the soldiers formed themselves into the very UNRF 2 she was appointed to facilitate in the peace process 26 years later. She stays in constant touch with some of those involved in peace process, including women and ex-combatants.

Stella has lectured at the European Peace University (EPU) in Austria and at the World Peace Academy at the University of Basel in Switzerland and trains groups in conflict analysis, negotiation and mediation, peace keeping/peace support operations, as well as in indigenous mechanisms of peacebuilding, gender and issues related to Small Arms and Light Weapons (SALW). She continues to support peace processes in Africa, Latin America and the Asia/Pacific Region. She founded the Center for Conflict Resolution (CECORE) in Uganda in 1995 and previous to that she worked with the International Fellowship of Reconciliation (IFOR) in The Netherlands, as head of the Africa Program and after working at United Nations Environment Program (UNEP) and with the Africa Church Information Service as Deputy Editor in Chief in Nairobi, Kenya.

She belongs to the Community of Experts on UNSCR 1325 as well as being a qualified Senior Mission Leader for Peace Support Operations. She develops curriculum for and trains Peace Keepers around the continent. She studied Sociology and Communications (among others) in Uganda and Canada and The Netherlands.

Trainer*innen

Stella Sabiiti
© forumZFD

Stella Sabiiti

Trainerin für Konstruktives Intervenieren

Im Laufe der Jahre hat Stella Mystica Sabiiti einen umfassenden Ansatz zur Konflikttransformation entwickelt, der auf ihrer persönlichen Erfahrung von Krieg und Folter und einem Leben als Flüchtende auf drei Kontinenten beruht. Stella ist derzeit UN-Frauenberaterin für das Netzwerk von Frauen in Konfliktprävention und Mediation (FemWise-Afrika) der Afrikanischen Union (AU). Ihre Arbeit basiert auf ihren Studien, deren Empfehlungen und Modalitäten für die Einrichtung des Netzwerks vom AU-Friedens- und Sicherheitsrat und schließlich von den AU-Staatsoberhäuptern gebilligt wurden (Juli 2018). Davor war Stella seit 2005 Teamleiterin im AU-Department für Frieden und Sicherheit in einem Expertenteam zur Operationalisierung der Afrikanischen Friedens- und Sicherheitsarchitektur (APSA). 2012 wechselte sie als Friedens- und Sicherheitsexpertin zur Direktion Frauen, Gender und Entwicklung (WGDD) im Büro des Vorsitzenden.

2002 leitete Stella einen erfolgreichen Friedensprozess zwischen der Uganda National Rescue Front (UNRF2) und der aktuellen Regierung Ugandas. Als Universitätsstudentin war sie 1976 von Soldaten des Präsidenten Idd Amin entführt und gefoltert worden. Diese Erfahrung prägte ihr künftiges Engagement für die Zusammenarbeit mit bewaffneten Gruppen für den Frieden. Nach dem Sturz von Präsident Amin 1979 formierten sich die Soldaten zu der UNRF2, die sie 26 Jahre später im Friedensprozess unterstützen sollte. Sie steht in ständigem Kontakt mit einigen am Friedensprozess Beteiligten, darunter Frauen und ehemalige Kämpfer*innen.

Stella lehrte an der Europäischen Friedensuniversität (EPU) in Österreich und an der World Peace Academy der Universität Basel in der Schweiz. Sie bildet Gruppen in Konfliktanalyse, -verhandlung und -mediation, friedenserhaltende/friedensunterstützende Operationen sowie indigene Mechanismen der Friedensbildung, Gender und Fragestellungen zu Kleinwaffen und leichten Waffen (SALW) aus. Sie unterstützt weiterhin Friedensprozesse in Afrika, Lateinamerika und der Region Asien/Pazifik. 1995 gründete sie das Center for Conflict Resolution (CECORE) in Uganda und arbeitete zuvor für das International Fellowship of Reconciliation (IFOR) in den Niederlanden, als Leiterin des Afrika-Programms und danach für das Umweltprogramm der Vereinten Nationen (UNEP) und für den Africa Church Information Service als stellvertretende Chefredakteurin in Nairobi, Kenia.

Sie gehört der Expertengemeinschaft für die Resolution 1325 des UN-Sicherheitsrates an und ist als Missionsleiterin für Friedensunterstützungseinsätze qualifiziert. Sie entwickelt Lehrpläne für Friedensfachkräfte auf dem Kontinent und bildet sie aus. Sie studierte Soziologie und Kommunikation u. a. in Uganda, Kanada und den Niederlanden.